Completely overwhelmed... Buy one from a builder? or make my own?

I am an avid baker and now I am also making pizza regularly (and then freezing). I have a set-up for my weber grill that works sort of, but I would love a wood-burning oven.

I have been tempted to buy a used bee-hive oven or an Ooni Pro oven, but that will run me a lot already and it’s not as good as a brick oven, but it’s INTIMIDATING to think about building one from scratch. I don’t have a dedicated spot un my yard, but I could make one easily enough.

I know there are all sorts of plans and different materials, but is it really worth doing it yourself when there are experts out there that can do it? how much did it cost to build yours when all said and done (and that includes buying tools/materials to get the job done).

Hi Melissa,

Welcome. I’m glade you reached out to this forum. I can relate to all of your questions. If I were you I would definitely build one of the ovens that brickwood oven has to offer. The way the have you build it not only is indestructible but any skill level can do it. Not going to lie to you some of it requires hard work. But it is truly satisfying know you did it yourself. There are plenty of people here if you need advice too.

If you chose to have a professional contractor do it make sure they absolutely follow the plans brickwood oven supplies you. They say they are experts but may do the project so its easier for them. Or what they are use to.

The next thing to consider is what type of oven is best for you. I picked the Mattone Barile Grande. Mostly because its the most versatile oven and also its one if the oldest designed oven in history. Every time I use it, it amazes me. Last weekend I had it up to 971 degrees and was still hot, 190 degrees 18 hours later.

Just imagine, you can cook pizzas. Then through in some chickens and cook bread all in one night. Good luck. Hope this helps

2 Likes