I'm a chef that likes to entertain - which type of pizza oven kit is right for me?!?

So I’m an executive chef working in the business for over 30 years.

I’m looking for an oven that heats up fast (Cortile Barile?), holds heat (all of them - but leaning more towards the refractory styles) and large enough to have parties at the house (wife and I like to have parties of 40+ people, like I said, I’m a chef).

I’m leaning towards the Cortile Barile due to the high-heat since it gets up to 900+ F as opposed to the fire brick models. But is the Cortile Barile big enough? I don’t just make pizzas - I’m looking to do small tapas style roasted seafood, vegetables, some baking when the oven cools down.

Am I over thinking this or do I look at the Mattone Cupola ovens also. Any opinions and recommendations are greatly appreciated.

Also, if anyone has ideas of building next to a deck which is about 3’ high from slab (I’m taking out my hot tub), that would be great

Thanks ahead of time!

Hello ADK -

Well - right off the bat, I can tell you that you won’t be happy w/ the Cortile Barile if you are entertaining large groups of people.

The Cortile Barile is designed to entertain group sizes of 1 - 15 people. That means, you can cook about 10 - 15 pizzas before you need to re-fire the oven to get her back to 900°+ degrees. Re-firing only takes about 15 minutes (to get the oven back to 900° after 30 - 45 minutes of use w/ the door off), but again, the cooking area is a limit to your aforementioned party size.

The Mattone Barile and Mattone Barile Grande would also be out since you mentioned high-heat (900°+) as a factor - the Cupolas will get hotter faster and stay hotter longer. Don’t get me wrong, the Barile and Barile Grande do get super-hot, but tend to cool off faster due to the large oven opening (which is nice to have when Wood-Fire BBQ’ing and smoking meat) and you can always close- off the front of the oven during oven construction.